Last update:
8 November 2009
20 Thu AlQe'da 1430

Churches & Cathedrals in Tripoli Lebanon

Tripoli > History > Monuments > Churches & Cathedrals

Quick Access

Present

  • ElMina
  • Families
  • Handicrafts
  • Index Tripolis
  • Kazdoura
  • Links
  • Maps
  • News
  • North Lebanon
  • Palm Islands
  • Panoramic Views
  • TeDS
  • Today's Tripoli
  • Tripoli Radio
  • Tripoli TV

Past

  • History
  • Monuments
  • The Tripoli Quiz
  • Tourist Guide
  • Virtual Museum

Languages

  • Français
  • عربي
  • Ramadhan / رمضان
  • عائلات

Copyright Notice

Information presented in The Tripoli Internet Database/tripoli-city.org web site is protected by copyright law. Unauthorized public reproduction or distribution of material contained in The Tripoli Internet Database/tripoli-city.org web site, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.


Contact Us

Please send your comments, suggestions, or contributions to: Dr. Ghazi Omar Tadmouri.

The Evangelical National Babtist Church

The Evangelical National Church is located in the Rahbat Street in Tripoli. It was founded in year 1973 CE.

Evangelical National Babtist Church

The Latin Italian Church

The Latin Italian Church is located within the campus of the Italian Lycee.

The Latin Italian Church

The Patriarchiate School

This is probably a Crusader monument. Historical references locate it near the Bimaristan and on the Abou Ali river side opposite to the Bourtasi Mosque. It was used by the Mamelukes and the Ottomans as a prayer house. It was demolished in the 1960s and many witnesses recall the Crusade cross present on its walls.

No picture is available for this monument

The Roum (Greek) Catholic Church

The Roum (Greek) Catholic Church is located in the Damm-Farz area in Tripoli, next to the Nini Hospital. It was founded in year 2001 CE.

Roum (Greek) Catholic Church

Saint Elie (Mar Elyas) Orthodoxe Cathedral

It was constructed in ElMina by local fishermen in 1861 C.E. It is now part of the campus of the National Orthodoxe College.



Church of Saint John of the Pilgrims Mount

Significant remains of this Crusader church were found in the Maronite Cemetery of St. John about 200 meters south of the Citadel of Tripoli on Abu Samra hill. This church is the only one of its kind in Lebanon, but resembles a similar church in Syria and another one in Jordan. The foundations of the church were discovered between the years 1946 and 1948, when some excavations were undertaken by the state's archeology office.

The remains of the church reveal two parts, a northern and a southern part. The two parts are connected through a door, which is their only link, and they represent two separate churches. The larger (northern) church which has a semi-circular apse. The smaller (southern) one, with a rectangular apse, was reserved for funerary use. The northern church measures 16.53 meters in length and 7.88 meters in width. Its circular altar has a wall thickness of 1.7 meters. There is a 1.3 meter-high cavity near the altar. It is believed that the cavity was used as closet for keeping church articles. Other walls of the church are 1.5 meter thick or less. The southern church is 7.4 meters in length and four meters in width. Its floor is covered with pebbles, which were mixed with a calcareous mixture, except for the choir area. There is a cavity under this part, whose purpose is not yet fully understood.

There are several signs that show the church's construction was completed and that it had been used. Some stones in the churches carry the letter "X," or the Greek letter "P," or a fork or a cross. Meanwhile, the graveyard adjacent to the southern Saint John Church suggests that it played an important part in the funerals. The name of the church was encountered in manuscripts dating back to Crusader times. The manuscripts were discovered around the middle of the last century.

No picture is available for this monument

Saint George (Jorjios) Orthodoxe Cathedral

It was constructed in the year 1735 C.E. in ElMina when Tripoli was governed by Ibrahim Pasha. It was restored in 1985 C.E. . The architectural styles followed in the construction of the church are a mixture of Byzantine, Arabic, and Memluke motifs. Under this church is a very old cave.




Saint George (Jorjios) Orthodoxe Church

It is thought that this church was built some time between 1862-1873 C.E., most probably it was built in 1870 C.E. It was constructed by the fisherman "Karam", who also devoted some neighbouring lands to built his own grave.

The fascade of the Saint Nicolas Church
The fascade of the Saint George (Jorjios) Orthodoxe Church


The inside of the Saint George (Jorjios) Orthodoxe Church

Saint Joseph Assyrian Catholic Church

Present at the Zahriyeh district, this church occupies a 300 m2 area. It is at present unused and needs about 147,000$ to restore its function.


Saint Maroon Church

The Saint Maroon Maronite Church was founded in year 1955 CE.

Saint Maroon Church

Saydeh Church

No information is currently available for this church.


Saint Michael Maronite Church

The Saint Michael Maronite (Roman Catholic) Church was built in 1889 CE.



Saint Nicolas (Sabaa) Orthodoxe Church

The Saint Nicolas Church, also known as Sabaa Orthodoxe Church, is a new construction that was erected on an old saponery (Soap-Making factory) gifted by Muslims as a part of a large agreement that allowed the foundation of the Ouwaysiyah Mosque on the remains of an old Crusader Monastery.

The first building block of the church was set on Wednesday October 6, 1809 CE/Ramadhan 21, 1224 Hejirah during the rule of the Minister "Kenj Yousef Pasha", the general governor of Syria and Tripoli. The governor of Tripoli at that time was Ali Beik el-As'ad, The head of the religious quart was Sheikh Khalil Barakeh, and the Moufti (the highest Islamic authority of the city) was Abdullah Karameh. The Church was renovated and enlarged in the summer of 1938 CE during the period of the Moutran of Tripoli Alexandros Hajji.



© Copyright tripoli-city.org. All rights reserved.