Last update:
4 November 2009
16 Thu AlQe'da 1430

Zawiyyah AlQaderiyyah

Tripoli > History > Monuments > Madrassa > AlNouriyyah Madrassa

Quick Access

Present

  • ElMina
  • Families
  • Handicrafts
  • Index Tripolis
  • Kazdoura
  • Links
  • Maps
  • News
  • North Lebanon
  • Palm Islands
  • Panoramic Views
  • TeDS
  • Today's Tripoli
  • Tripoli Radio
  • Tripoli TV

Past

  • History
  • Monuments
  • The Tripoli Quiz
  • Tourist Guide
  • Virtual Museum

Languages

  • Français
  • عربي
  • Ramadhan / رمضان
  • عائلات

Copyright Notice

Information presented in The Tripoli Internet Database/tripoli-city.org web site is protected by copyright law. Unauthorized public reproduction or distribution of material contained in The Tripoli Internet Database/tripoli-city.org web site, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.


Contact Us

Please send your comments, suggestions, or contributions to: Dr. Ghazi Omar Tadmouri.

Brief Notes
  • Location: Nouri district
  • Surface area: 185 m2
  • Commissioned by: Prince Sonkor ben Abdullah el-Nouri
  • Date of construction: 705-710 H/1305-1310 CE
  • Historical period: Mameluke
  • Characteristics: This monument is still used for teaching religion.
  • Proprietor: Islamic Awqaf Directorate of Tripoli

Superstructure

Entrance Corridor: Simple vaulting.

Large Hall: Lower area; used for ablution and covered by cross vaulting with concave widening lines meeting in an octagonal opening; higher are used for prayer and covered by a simple cross vault.

Tomb Chamber: It contains the tomb of Prince Tormosh alDawadar (800 H/1398 CE). Dome with cupola that rests on an octagonal zone of alternating open and closed arches resting on four squinches.


Architectural Features and Decorative Details

Exterior

Portal: The portal is elaborate and reaches the full height of the building; framed by a zigzag in low relief; oculus with joggled polychrome voussoirs above door; wall on which oculus is set, dor jambs and the arch are all decorated in alternating courses of black and white stone.

Windows: Identical windows set equidistantly from each other four courses above street level; heavily barred and simply decorated by alternating black and white stones on the sides and more elaborate course of ablaq above a plain lintel. One of the windows carries the "glass" renk (logo or motto) of the commissioner.

Interior

Mihrab (sanctuary): Niche in the wall with a half dome resting on two reused marble colonettes; totally covered by various patterns of marble (half dome covered by a zigzag pattern of polychrome marble, arch displays a joggled arrangement of marble slabs, panel behind covered by a pattern of polychrome star shaped marquetry). It is one of the most elegant mihrabs in Tripoli.


Neigbourhood of the Madrassa

In 795 H/ CE 1393, Prince Seyfeddeen Abou Azm Tourmesh Zahiri built a grave next to the northern side of Nourieh school and he made an inalienable property for it. He was Hajeb Houjjab (the chief of chamberlains) in Tripoli, then he left to the Kurds fort (Hosn Akrad) where he died and was burried.

Photo Album


The Mihrab of Madrassa al-Nouriyah

The Glass motto on the window of Madrassa al-Nouriyah

Detail in the portal of Madrassa al-Nouriyah

© Copyright tripoli-city.org. All rights reserved.