The harbour - ElMina - three kilometers away, hosted what was apparently at one time a Phoenician town of which nothing now remains. ElMina is also known as the "City of Waves and Horizons".
A comprehensive repository of Tripolitan families and expatriates.
Tripoli has long been known for its sweets industry, olive oil-based soap production, and copper crafts.
- Index Tripolis
A project to provide bibliographic information about Tripoli, Lebanon.
A wander around inside Tripoli, Lebanon: A diary of humouristic series of walkabouts "kazdouras".
Useful links and telephone numbers in Tripoli, Lebanon.
Terrain, street, satellite, touristic, urban growth, sailing, and historical maps and aerial imagery of Tripoli, Lebanon.
Daily and weekly news from Tripoli, Lebanon.
- North Lebanon
A guide for towns and villages neighbouring Tripoli, Lebanon.
- Palm Islands
The Palm Islands Park is a unique and integrated natural marine basin in the eastern Mediterranean that was declared as a reserve in 1994.
- Panoramic Views
Interactive panoramic views of Tripoli, Lebanon.
The 'Tripoli e-Discussion Society' is an independently self-controlled body that aims at gathering Tripolitans residing all over the world to discuss issues pertaining to Tripoli, Lebanon.
- Today's Tripoli
Various present aspects of Tripoli, Lebanon
- Tripoli Radio
An Internet Radio that features original on-demand programs about various aspects of Tripoli, Lebanon.
- Tripoli TV
An Internet TV that brings you original on-demand films about various aspects of Tripoli, Lebanon.
A quick reference about Tripoli in the Prehistorical, Persian, Hellenistic, Roman, Byzantine, Arab, Crusade, Mameluke, and Ottoman periods.
The wealth of historical monuments make Tripoli the second largest preserved Mameluke city in the world.
- The Tripoli Quiz
An educational game to test your knowledge about Tripoli, Lebanon.
- Tourist Guide
A comprehensive tourist guide for sightseeing in Tripoli, Lebanon.
- Virtual Museum
A documented history of Tripoli from the 3rd to the 20th centuries with large collections of coins, garments, manuscripts, paintings, old photographs, and many other artifacts.
Bienvenue à Tripoli, Liban
أهلاً بكم في طرابلس لبنان
- Ramadhan / رمضان
The Holy Month of Ramadhan in Tripoli / شهر رمضان المبارك في طرابلس
Information presented in The Tripoli Internet Database/tripoli-city.org web site is protected by copyright law. Unauthorized public reproduction or distribution of material contained in The Tripoli Internet Database/tripoli-city.org web site, or any portion of it, may result in severe civil and criminal penalties, and will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
- Location: Hadeed Gate area (Samak ascent)
- Surface area: 451 m2
- Date of construction (as zawiyah): Unknown
- Reconstruction commissioned by: Prince Haydarah
- Date of reconstruction (as a Mosque): 941 H/1535 CE
- Historical period: Mameluke/Ottoman
- Proprietor: Islamic Awqaf Directorate of Tripoli
At present the Ouwaysiyyah is a complex of different structures: The proper Ouwaysiyyeh mosque, the Ouwaysiyyeh mousallah, the Mahmoudiyeh (or Sanjak)
Madrassa, and the remains of the former Crusader Monastery.
The Ouwaysiyah Mosque was first built by the Mamelukes and served as a small Madrassah (theological school). It is claimed to be related to Ouways alRoumi, who ordered its construction in 865 Hejirah. This person was the leader of a religious sect in Islam known as the Tareeka Ouweysiyyeh and had thousands of followers in
Damascus (Syria), Baalbek, and Tripoli (Lebanon) during the 10th century Hejirah/16th CE. The Madrassah was then enlarged and became a mosque as ordered by Prince Haydarah in 941 H/1535 CE and as indicated by an inscription at the minaret of the mosque. In that same year, the Mahmoudiyeh
school (known as Sanjak) was built next to the mosque and recently it became a part of it. For this, it is possible to see both Mameluke and Ottoman
motifs in the Ouwaysiyah mosque.
The minaret is Ottoman in style. The mosque contains Tripoli’s largest domes. In the hall is the grave of the Governor of Tripoli Prince Ahmed Pasha Shatarfeel.
|Ouwaysiyah Musalla (Praying Corner)
Inside the mosque, a small prayer corner was built at an unkown date. That area used to be a small church for the Orthodoxe Christians of the city of Tripoli, that is a part of a large
monastery. The church may date back to the Crusades Era. It was turned into a prayer corner for Muslims at the beginning of the 19th century CE. The corner was separated from the main
mosque by means of a wall that was removed much recently. The prayer corner is distinguished from the rest of the mosque since it was standing on a high ground.
The details of the conversion of the church into the Ouweysiyyeh Mousallah (small praying area) include an interesting story on the harmony between Christian and Muslim Tripolitans. The
church was turned into a prayer area for Muslims upon a suggested agreement that was first posed by the Christians of the city. The full story is preserved in the letters stated in the
book of Mr. Abdallah Ghurayyeb (an eminent Christian from the city), of which we can state the following: "It is a good idea to speak about the history of this church. I say that it was a
church for the Orthdoxe Christians of Tripoli. It is now the Sarwa Mosque in the Sagha District of Tripoli. When the church became in the center of the residential area occupied by
Muslims, using it for the rituals during the fests and holly days became an inconvenient process. For this, Christians of the city met with the Muslims and handed their church. Muslims
turned the place to be a mosque just after the Christians cleared their belongings such as the icons, etc... The Muslims in return gifted to the Christians a land where a saponery (Soap
Making Factory) used to stand and they built instead their new church, the St. Nicolas Church. This way, the saponery became a church and the church became
|Sanjakiyah Mosque and Madrassa
- Location: Hadeed gate (within the Ouwaysiyah Mosque compound)
- Commissioned by: Mahmoud Beyk alSanjak
- Date of construction: 1027 H/1617 CE
- Historical period: Ottoman
- Characteristics: The Sanjakiyah Mosque includes an Ablaq-styled mihrab (alternating black and white stones) on top of which are lots of decorations and colored symmetrical drawings.
- Proprietor: Islamic Awqaf Directorate of Tripoli
The Ouwaysiyah Mosque and its neighborhood.
The Dome of the Ouwaysiyah Mosque.
The Dome of the grave of the Governor of Tripoli Prince Ahmed Pasha Shatarfeel within the Ouwaysiyah Mosque.
The Sanjakiyah Madrassah.
Between the shaft and balcony on the minaret of the Ouwaysiyah Mosque, a fish-scale muqarnas creates a transition zone.